Skip to main content

Accounting and Finance for Decision Making Test Preparation - 4046 Verified Questions

Page 1


Accounting and Finance for Decision Making Test Preparation

Course Introduction

This course provides an in-depth understanding of key accounting and finance principles essential for effective decision making in business organizations. Students will explore financial statement analysis, budgeting, cost management, and performance evaluation, learning how to interpret and use accounting information to make strategic decisions. Emphasis is placed on the role of financial data in planning, control, and resource allocation, equipping students with practical skills in investment appraisal, risk assessment, and financial planning necessary for managerial and entrepreneurial success.

Recommended Textbook

Introduction to Managerial Accounting 8th Edition by Peter Brewer

Available Study Resources on Quizplus

21 Chapters

4046 Verified Questions

4046 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/study-set/3220

Page 2

Chapter 1: Managerial Accounting and Cost Concepts

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

299 Verified Questions

299 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63784

Sample Questions

Q1) In May direct labor was 60% of conversion cost.If the manufacturing overhead for the month was $54,000 and the direct materials cost was $30,000, the direct labor cost was:

A)$36,000

B)$20,000

C)$81,000

D)$45,000

Answer: C

Q2) If 4,000 units are sold, the variable cost per unit sold is closest to:

A)$13.60

B)$12.20

C)$14.40

D)$16.90

Answer: A

Q3) Most companies use the contribution approach in preparing financial statements for external reporting purposes.

A)True

B)False

Answer: False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 3

Chapter 2: Job-Order Costing: Calculating Unit Product Costs

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

292 Verified Questions

292 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63783

Sample Questions

Q1) If a job is not completed at year end, then no manufacturing overhead cost would be applied to that job when a predetermined overhead rate is used.

A)True

B)False

Answer: False

Q2) Henkes Corporation bases its predetermined overhead rate on the estimated labor-hours for the upcoming year.At the beginning of the most recently completed year, the company estimated the labor-hours for the upcoming year at 66,000 labor-hours.The estimated variable manufacturing overhead was $8.41 per labor-hour and the estimated total fixed manufacturing overhead was $1,533,180.The actual labor-hours for the year turned out to be 68,400 labor-hours.

Required:

Compute the company's predetermined overhead rate for the recently completed year.

Answer: Estimated total manufacturing overhead = $1,533,180 + ($8.41 per labor-hour × 66,000 labor-hours)= $2,088,240

Predetermined overhead rate = $2,088,240 ÷ 66,000 labor-hours = $31.64 per labor-hour

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Page 4

Chapter 3: Job-Order Costing: Cost Flows and External Reporting

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

256 Verified Questions

256 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63781

Sample Questions

Q1) Braam Corporation uses direct labor-hours in its predetermined overhead rate.At the beginning of the year, the estimated direct labor-hours were 11,500 hours.At the end of the year, actual direct labor-hours for the year were 9,700 hours, the actual manufacturing overhead for the year was $143,350, and manufacturing overhead for the year was underapplied by $18,220.The estimated manufacturing overhead at the beginning of the year used in the predetermined overhead rate must have been:

A)$164,023

B)$125,130

C)$148,350

D)$138,350

Answer: C

Q2) The credits to the Work in Process account as a consequence of the raw materials transactions in November total:

A)$78,000

B)$92,000

C)$0

D)$95,000

Answer: C

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 5

Chapter 4: Activity-Based Costing

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

230 Verified Questions

230 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63780

Sample Questions

Q1) If the company allocates all of its overhead based on direct labor-hours using its traditional costing method, the predetermined overhead rate would be closest to:

A)$34.33 per DLH

B)$15.39 per DLH

C)$23.03 per DLH

D)$78.28 per DLH

Q2) The activity rate for the General Factory activity cost pool under activity-based costing is closest to:

A)$166.83 per MH

B)$88.96 per MH

C)$65.12 per MH

D)$192.54 per MH

Q3) The unit product cost of Product A4 under activity-based costing is closest to:

A)$1,168.26 per unit

B)$1,381.41 per unit

C)$1,307.76 per unit

D)$784.69 per unit

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Chapter 5: Process Costing6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

139 Verified Questions

139 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63778

Sample Questions

Q1) Mundes Corporation uses the weighted-average method in its process costing system.The beginning work in process inventory in its Painting Department consisted of 2,000 units that were 60% complete with respect to materials and 40% complete with respect to conversion costs.The cost of the beginning work in process inventory in the department was recorded as $8,800.During the period, 8,000 units were completed and transferred on to the next department.The costs per equivalent unit for the period were $4.00 for material and $5.00 for conversion costs.The cost of units transferred out during the month was:

A)$40,000

B)$63,200

C)$72,000

D)$80,800

Q2) In process costing, the equivalent units computed for materials is generally the same as that computed for conversion costs.

A)True B)False

Q3) In a process costing system, costs are traced directly to jobs. A)True B)False

Page 7

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Chapter 6: Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

260 Verified Questions

260 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63776

Sample Questions

Q1) This question is to be considered independently of all other questions relating to Houpe Corporation.Refer to the original data when answering this question. The marketing manager would like to cut the selling price by $7 and increase the advertising budget by $28,000 per month.The marketing manager predicts that these two changes would increase monthly sales by 500 units.What should be the overall effect on the company's monthly net operating income of this change?

A)decrease of $17,500

B)increase of $17,500

C)decrease of $24,500

D)increase of $38,500

Q2) Product Y sells for $15 per unit, and has variable expenses of $9 per unit.Fixed expenses total $300,000 per year.How many units of Product Y must be sold each year to yield an annual profit of $90,000?

A)50,000 units

B)65,000 units

C)15,000 units

D)43,333 units

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 8

Chapter 7: Variable Costing and Segment Reporting: Tools for Management

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

291 Verified Questions

291 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63775

Sample Questions

Q1) The unit product cost under absorption costing in Year 1 is closest to:

A)$36.00

B)$21.00

C)$57.00

D)$62.00

Q2) Under absorption costing, the unit product cost would be:

A)$7 per unit

B)$16 per unit

C)$11 per unit

D)$10 per unit

Q3) A properly constructed segmented income statement in a contribution format would show that the segment margin of the Consumer business segment is:

A)$164,000

B)$62,000

C)$394,000

D)$184,000

Q4) Absorption costing treats all fixed costs as product costs.

A)True

B)False

9

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Chapter 8: Master Budgeting

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

236 Verified Questions

236 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63774

Sample Questions

Q1) Um Corporation has provided the following information concerning its raw materials purchases.The budgeted cost of raw materials purchases in November is $286,032.The company pays for 40% of its raw materials purchases in the month of purchase and 60% in the following month.The budgeted accounts payable balance at the end of November is closest to:

A)$114,413

B)$140,333

C)$171,619

D)$286,032

Q2) The total needs (i.e., production requirements plus desired ending inventory)of Material K for November are:

A)37,800 yards

B)44,940 yards

C)37,380 yards

D)45,360 yards

Q3) The estimated selling and administrative expense for August is closest to:

A)$70,000

B)$57,970

C)$16,950

D)$86,950

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 10

Chapter 10: Performance Measurement in Decentralized Organizations

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

180 Verified Questions

180 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63770

Sample Questions

Q1) Suppose a company evaluates divisional performance using both ROI and residual income.The company's minimum required rate of return for the purposes of residual income calculations is 12%.If a division has a residual income of $6,000, then its ROI is less than 12%.

A)True

B)False

Q2) The division's return on investment (ROI)is closest to:

A)7.3%

B)23.8%

C)31.3%

D)3.0%

Q3) Haney Fabrication is a division of a major corporation.Last year the division had total sales of $21,560,000, net operating income of $1,897,280, and average operating assets of $7,000,000.The company's minimum required rate of return is 16%.

Required:

What is the division's return on investment (ROI)?

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Page 11

Chapter 11: Differential Analysis: The Key to Decision Making

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

203 Verified Questions

203 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63769

Sample Questions

Q1) Schickel Inc.regularly uses material B39U and currently has in stock 460 liters of the material for which it paid $3,128 several weeks ago.If this were to be sold as is on the open market as surplus material, it would fetch $5.95 per liter.New stocks of the material can be purchased on the open market for $6.45 per liter, but it must be purchased in lots of 1,000 liters.You have been asked to determine the relevant cost of 760 liters of the material to be used in a job for a customer.The relevant cost of the 760 liters of material B39U is:

A)$4,902

B)$4,672

C)$4,522

D)$6,450

Q2) It may be a good decision to replace an asset before its original cost has been fully recovered through increased revenues or decreased costs.

A)True

B)False

Q3) Opportunity costs represent costs that can be reduced by effective management of operations.

A)True

B)False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Page 12

Chapter 12: Capital Budgeting Decisions

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

179 Verified Questions

179 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63767

Sample Questions

Q1) If the new bus is purchased, the present value of the annual cash operating costs associated with this alternative is closest to:

A)$(54,800)

B)$(36,500)

C)$(16,200)

D)$(42,800)

Q2) (Ignore income taxes in this problem.)Golab Roofing is considering the purchase of a crane that would cost $69,846, would have a useful life of 6 years, and would have no salvage value.The use of the crane would result in labor savings of $21,000 per year.The internal rate of return on the investment in the crane is closest to:

A)18%

B)20%

C)19%

D)17%

Q3) The present value of the annual cost savings of $78,000 is closest to:

A)$763,064

B)$177,027

C)$546,000

D)$367,536

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Page 13

Chapter 9: Flexible Budgets Standard Costs and Variance Analysis

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

461 Verified Questions

461 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63771

Sample Questions

Q1) The variable overhead efficiency variance for supplies is closest to:

A)$10,947 F

B)$119 U

C)$10,947 U

D)$119 F

Q2) The variable overhead efficiency variance for September is:

A)$140 U

B)$140 F

C)$133 F

D)$133 U

Q3) The labor efficiency variance for September is:

A)$1,540 F

B)$1,687 U

C)$1,687 F

D)$1,540 U

Q4) The raw materials price variance for the month is closest to:

A)$33,670 U

B)$29,743 F

C)$29,743 U

D)$33,670 F

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 14

Chapter 13: Statement of Cash Flows

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

132 Verified Questions

132 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63765

Sample Questions

Q1) Which of the following would be considered a cash inflow in the financing activities section of the statement of cash flows?

A)Issuing bonds payable.

B)Receiving cash from customers.

C)Sale of equipment.

D)Collection of a loan made to another company.

Q2) The net cash provided by (used in)financing activities for the year was:

A)$10

B)$5

C)$(12)

D)$17

Q3) Suggett Corporation's net cash provided by operating activities was $34; its income taxes were $12; its capital expenditures were $24; and its cash dividends were $7.The company's free cash flow was:

A)$(19)

B)$77

C)$3

D)$15

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

15

Chapter 14: Financial Statement Analysis

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

289 Verified Questions

289 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63764

Sample Questions

Q1) The company's book value per share at the end of Year 2 is closest to:

A)$0.38 per share

B)$8.18 per share

C)$18.08 per share

D)$13.93 per share

Q2) The acid-test (quick)ratio at the end of Year 2 is closest to:

A)0.72

B)0.83

C)0.59

D)1.25

Q3) Gnas Corporation's total current assets are $210,000, its noncurrent assets are $590,000, its total current liabilities are $160,000, its long-term liabilities are $490,000, and its stockholders' equity is $150,000.The current ratio is closest to:

A)1.31

B)0.76

C)0.33

D)0.36

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 16

Chapter 15: Job-Order Costing: Cost Flows and External Reporting

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

28 Verified Questions

28 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63782

Sample Questions

Q1) In the Excel, or spreadsheet, approach to recording financial transactions, the revenues and expenses on the income statement can be determined by summing each column.

A)True

B)False

Q2) In the Excel, or spreadsheet, approach to recording financial transactions, factory utility costs paid in cash are recorded as a decrease in the Cash column and as an increase in the Manufacturing Overhead column.

A)True

B)False

Q3) In the Excel, or spreadsheet, approach to recording financial transactions, the Manufacturing Overhead account is used to record two things-all actual overhead expenses and the amount of manufacturing overhead applied to production using the predetermined overhead rate.

A)True

B)False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

17

Chapter 16: Process Costing6 Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

100 Verified Questions

100 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63779

Sample Questions

Q1) The cost per equivalent unit for conversion costs for the first department for the month is closest to:

A)$29.89

B)$34.07

C)$31.07

D)$31.38

Q2) From the standpoint of cost control, the FIFO method of process costing is superior to the weighted-average method.

A)True

B)False

Q3) In the department's cost reconciliation report for February, the total cost accounted for would be:

A)$534,000

B)$267,000

C)$42,000

D)$510,000

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 18

Chapter 17: Cost-Volume-Profit Relationships

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

82 Verified Questions

82 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63777

Sample Questions

Q1) Using the high-low method of analysis, what are the company's estimated total fixed selling and administrative expenses per year?

A)$60,000

B)$174,000

C)$150,000

D)$162,000

Q2) The best estimate of the total contribution margin when 6,300 units are sold is:

A)$75,600

B)$97,650

C)$362,880

D)$229,950

Q3) The best estimate of the total monthly fixed manufacturing cost is:

A)$221,200

B)$391,800

C)$173,800

D)$126,400

Q4) The highest and lowest costs are always used to analyze a mixed cost under the high-low method.

A)True

B)False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 19

Chapter 18:Flexible Budgets, Standard Costs, and Variance Analysis

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

177 Verified Questions

177 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63773

Sample Questions

Q1) In a standard costing system, if the actual fixed manufacturing overhead cost exceeds the budgeted fixed manufacturing overhead cost for the period, then fixed manufacturing overhead cost would be underapplied for the period.

A)True

B)False

Q2) At the beginning of last year, Tarind Corporation budgeted $75,000 of fixed manufacturing overhead and chose a denominator level of activity of 150,000 machine-hours.At the end of the year, Tari's fixed manufacturing overhead budget variance was $2,250 favorable.Its fixed manufacturing overhead volume variance was $3,750 favorable.Actual direct labor-hours for the year were 156,250.What was Tari's total standard machine-hours allowed for last year's output?

A)157,500

B)162,000

C)164,000

D)142,500

Q3) There can be no volume variance for variable manufacturing overhead.

A)True B)False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 20

Chapter 19: Flexible Budgets, Standard Costs, and Variance Analysis

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

140 Verified Questions

140 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63772

Sample Questions

Q1) When the company closes its standard cost variances, the Cost of Goods Sold will increase (decrease)by:

A)$34,300

B)($34,300)

C)$66,810

D)($66,810)

Q2) When recording the direct labor costs, the Work in Process inventory account will increase (decrease)by:

A)($249,405)

B)$249,405

C)($281,435)

D)$281,435

Q3) The net operating income for the year is closest to:

A)$107,269

B)$6,150

C)$89,348

D)$72,960

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above. Page 21

Chapter 20: A Capital Budgeting Decisions

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

16 Verified Questions

16 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63768

Sample Questions

Q1) (Ignore income taxes in this problem.)At an interest rate of 14%, approximately how much would you need to invest today if you wanted to have $2,000,000 in 10 years?

A)$383,436

B)$540,000

C)$740,741

D)$1,043,200

Q2) The higher the discount rate, the higher the present value of a given future cash flow.

A)True

B)False

Q3) An increase in the discount rate:

A)will increase the present value of future cash flows.

B)will have no effect on net present value.

C)will reduce the present value of future cash flows.

D)is one method of compensating for reduced risk.

Q4) The present value of a given future cash flow will decrease as the discount rate decreases.

A)True

B)False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

22

Chapter 21: A Statement of Cash Flows

Available Study Resources on Quizplus for this Chatper

56 Verified Questions

56 Flashcards

Source URL: https://quizplus.com/quiz/63766

Sample Questions

Q1) Using the direct method, sales adjusted to a cash basis would be:

A)$300,000

B)$302,000

C)$298,000

D)$305,000

Q2) If accounts receivable increase during a period, then the amount of cash collected from customers will be less than the amount of sales reported on the income statement for the period.

A)True

B)False

Q3) Under the direct method of determining the net cash provided by (used in)operating activities on the statement of cash flows, an increase in accounts receivable would be added to sales revenue to convert revenue to a cash basis.

A)True

B)False

To view all questions and flashcards with answers, click on the resource link above.

Turn static files into dynamic content formats.

Create a flipbook
Accounting and Finance for Decision Making Test Preparation - 4046 Verified Questions by Quizplus - Issuu